Home > Uncategorized > Lit-Soc

Lit-Soc

September 3, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

There’s something called Lit-Soc in IIT Madras. Before you (non IITians) conclude that this is something high-funda, let me tell you it’s just a name for the inter-hostel literary cum social activities organised here.

Last weekend there were fine arts events under Lit-Soc. I read the notice and decided to participate in the Spray Painting event, at least. And since there wasn’t any on-the-spot-topic rule, I began to focus on the grave issue: what to draw? I am not very nice at such brainstorming kind of things; I would rather someone give me a theme and I would put my heart in it. But here, it was me alone.

So, I resorted to the best help available: the Net. It disappointed me. Now, I had to rummage my brain for ideas. The first thing that came to me was portrait: those which employ arbit black shapes to reveal some face. I decided on Gandhiji’s face. Got a decent one from net (it doesn’t disappoint you when you are looking for simple things), did some quick Photoshop editing and created one such image. But actually making it by spray painting, cutting those weird black shapes to use as stencils seemed a daunting task. So the whole idea was scrapped.

Still surfing for ideas, I came upon a pattern of spirals. Then it struck me. Fire! Yes, I could draw fire. Done.

But there was a minor problem: what to show as burning? Past experiences have invariably told me that depicting positive or optimistic pleases the judges. So, the question remained: burning of what is positive?

Next, I approached Vatsap? The following is an excerpt from our Google Talk conversation:

me: can you associate burning with something positive? like burning of old rituals etc…
Amrit: well yeah burning of evil is positive to me
me: and how do you depict evil?
Amrit: šŸ˜ onida ka ad dekha hai? Yes, that was it! The devil himself; two horns and a tail. Job done!

Next day, I went to the venue and did exactly as I had planned. Here is what I finally managed to do:


And guess what? This one won me third prize! And some Lit-Soc points for my hostel too!!



  1. amrit
    September 4, 2007 at 12:03 am

    Congrats. And my treat is due.

  2. Moli
    September 4, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Congrats, brilliant idea

  3. aniket
    September 4, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    @amrit, moli
    thanks!

  4. m.flowerr
    September 5, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Congrats! well depicted!

  5. aniket
    September 5, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    @m.flowerr
    thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

