Home > Grin, Poetry > Sister’s attempt at poetry

Sister’s attempt at poetry

January 13, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

My younger sister (9th std.) wrote the following poem in 10 min and narrated to me over phone. I loved it, given that it was her first attempt.

Please note that Sacred Heart is the name of our school and ‘sister’ means the principal.

All mates kind and helpful,
All teachers nice and sweet,
This was the place I called my school,
Being admitted to it was a treat.

Years followed, time passed,
And then came the time I laughed last,
I spoilt my reputation with what I had done,
And also lost your trust which I had once won,
My name gained rank in the popularity chart,
And I was called the worst girl in Sacred Heart.

Aloof I suffered, aloof I cried,
To prove myself all I tried,
None understood the misery of this little heart,
Seeing it blamed all went apart,
Friends were there who always supported,
“We are there”, they often quoted.

The hush is over and the rumours nil,
Not for me, who is crying still,
Your trust again is all I need,
To gain it anyhow, it is my greed,
Promising never to repeat the task,
Your pardon, dear sister, is all I ask.

  1. January 14, 2009 at 12:21 am

    She is good at her age yaar….
    family line of creative people

  2. January 14, 2009 at 1:02 am

    She have a free flow of thoughts… and great expression potential… Totally fan

  3. neelangana
    January 14, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    its all n the blood.. painters,poets…
    but i sometimes wonder why these creative links elude me…..!!!!!!!!! 8)

    about the poem…i loved it too…but try to uncover the story behind it…thats even more interesting… 😉

  4. January 15, 2009 at 11:08 am

    @Moli, Anuj: Thoughts conveyed!

    @neelangana: Painters, poets, DANCERS!

  1. January 13, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

