Home > Grin, Humour > Heart in the right place

Heart in the right place

I have always believed that human heart is NOT on the left side but in the centre, thanks to my school teacher. The theory was like this:

Heart is actually in the centre, just under the sternum (chest bone). It’s orientation is not with the vertical; it is somewhat tilted. This pushes the auricles towards the upper right side and the ventricles to the lower left side. Now, since major pumping activity, all that expanding and contracting, takes place in the ventricles, we feel the heartbeat on the left side.

I took infinite pride in my knowledge about this. The satisfaction you feel when someone (well, everyone) you meet doesn’t know the facts and is ready to challenge you that his/her version of facts is the correct one. You begin looking down at such creatures. It’s as if they don’t have their hearts in the right place!

So was my state. Till a few days ago. I met a med student whose eyes almost popped out in disbelief on hearing my theory. The fact that I was so confident about it eliminated the possibility of a joke.

“Bullshit” she said.

“Let me explain.” I said coolly, as it was not the first time I was meeting someone who had been kept in dark.

But here I was talking to someone who has seen more hearts than I have ever (have I?). She said, rather plainly, that heart is on the left side.

And that marked the end of my privileged knowledge days!

  1. June 22, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    ha ha ha ha

    i told you!

    • June 22, 2009 at 9:51 pm

      And I never listened.

  2. Hayagreev
    June 22, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    hah, got that downtrodden feeling??

  3. Shivangi
    June 22, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Even I knew the same. Perhaps from the same source of knowledge in the past . Sad 😦 arey haan bio book me bhi to likha hota tha!

    • June 22, 2009 at 11:20 pm

      Welcome to the enlightened world!

  4. Moli
    June 23, 2009 at 5:11 am

    told you a billion times… dude i took bio yaar.. thora to consider kiya hota πŸ˜€

  5. June 23, 2009 at 5:13 am

    I was too confident about Bio myself. 😦
    Still am, except this minor setback. πŸ™‚

  6. June 23, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Of course the heart is in the centre!

    • June 23, 2009 at 5:25 am

      You do not need to tell me this again and again!

    • June 23, 2009 at 5:39 am

      Oops! Misinterpreted the comment.
      So, you still believe that?

      Trust me, it’s not, before you end up learning it the hard way!

  7. Shivangi
    June 23, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    found somewhere: “heart is really a muscle. It’s located a little to the left of the middle of your chest, and it’s about the size of your fist.”

  8. June 24, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Wow, ok…

    Even I thought heart was at the centre… Wat does Wiki say?

    • June 24, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      This:

      In the human body, the heart is usually situated in the middle of the thorax with the largest part of the heart slightly offset to the left (although sometimes it is on the right, see dextrocardia), underneath the sternum. The heart is usually felt to be on the left side because the left heart (left ventricle) is stronger (it pumps to all body parts). The left lung is smaller than the right lung because the heart occupies more of the left hemithorax.

      See this also:

  9. neelangana
    June 25, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    are you sure a med student gave you this stupid piece of knowledge!? (god save her patients)..

    of course the heart is in the center…and it is aligned straight….all the reason for the LEFT feeling is the left ventricle which has stronger muscles than the rest three regions of heart….wiki has got the facts perfect…

    at least that’s what we in biotechnology believe… dunnno if some enthusiastic meds have made a new discovery πŸ˜›

    • June 26, 2009 at 12:45 am

      Seems the world consists of two kinds of people: those who think that the heart is on the left side and those are correct. πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

