Home > Uncategorized > To Delhi and back

To Delhi and back

Last time I was in Delhi I returned with a worn out leg. I had finished a half marathon and the aftermath included slight limping. That was November and in spite of the pains I would rate the trip as good. So when a friend asked if I would be joining his cousin’s wedding in Delhi I immediately agreed. It meant watching the World Cup finals in Gurgaon with beer in hand and friends on either side of me on the sofa.

My travel included few buses to Ahmedabad and then a flight to Delhi. By the time I reached Ahmedabad I was in a sorry state. A severe ache had gripped my stomach and I felt I would throw up any moment. I got down from the bus. It was 3:30 am and I could barely stand. I called a few friends who I thought may be in Ahmedabad. Turned out none were there that night.

I began weighing my options, and once again was brought to the fact I knew – I was not good at it. And then help came. Consty, whom I had called earlier, had talked to a friend to allow me in his house. The friend and his wife offered me all help that they could at that hour, including some pills. I felt a little better, but still couldn’t get rid of that pain.

I left them after an hour and headed for the airport. After the security check I rushed to the washroom and threw up. I thought I would be better after that but the flight was terrible. The 90 minute journey was like a roller coaster ride, turning and tossing wildly, to the agony of people like me. I had insisted for an aisle seat closest to the toilet, still I had to wait to use it. There was a group of about 40 people (uncles and aunties) who seemed to be trying their best to get noticed. For the first time I saw a queue for the toilet in the plane. All the aunties were eager to try it and the queue covered a quarter of the aisle! People with stomach aches should wait to use the toilet. No, they should not undertake the journey itself. Why travel when you are indisposed? After what seemed like ages, I got my turn. I asked the hostess if they had any medicines. They didn’t.

The ordeal continued in Delhi. Bhondu had come to receive me (he was late as usual). I went to his place and after few hours there I began to feel better. Eno and some sleep helped. It was time for the final match then. There was no beer, I could not take it after what I had been through in the past few hours. But there was no dearth of friends. Bhondu, Tattu, Ghalib, S9 and Shiwani were there. Later, Dilli was there too. We saw Delhi going crazy after we won the match.

Next day I had my share of beers before it was time to depart. As before, in spite of the pains, I would rate the trip as good.

  1. April 11, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Finally u write

    • April 11, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      You insisted 🙂

  2. Neelangana
    April 11, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Few Things:

    > Welcome back.
    > Don’t like the new look. It is very professional-ish, “meaning business” kind of. Old one was easier, and friendlier. And had great header pic too.
    > The assortment of categories at the bottom was very helpful. Bring it back (if this theme allows it)
    > When did you turn psychic??
    > Your writing has deteriorated (a little) without practice. The simple but mature feel persists but few lines here and there are amateurish. And the overall feel of the writing is not the same as yours.
    > At 3.30 in the morning, why didn’t you just head over to the airport, get a medicine from there and rest before the flight?!!
    > And last, echoing the above feeling.. “Finally you write”

    • April 11, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      1. Thank you.

      2. I like the new look, because it’s minimal. Wanted to do away with header and all the frills. Wanted to do away with categories also, because my posts were generally uncategorized, and clicking on any category presented an incomplete and wrong picture.

      3. Since long.

      4. I always had the amateurish feel 😛

      5. Because I badly wanted to vomit and to lie down somewhere.

      6. 🙂

  3. Moli
    April 11, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    > and why the ad at the bottom of the post?

    reminds me of my delhi trip for your birthday .. stomach ache, no booze

    • April 11, 2011 at 8:56 pm

      Don’t know why the ad is visible to you. I don’t see any ads!

      Ha ha, I remember the Delhi trip. Poor Moli! And you didn’t allow me to eat while I was hungry!

  4. April 12, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    @ Moli The Delhi bday was awesome 🙂

  5. Shruti
    June 1, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    I seem to be quite late here.. But good to see you writing again..and on something involving happier tones :).. though, agree with Nilie, liked the old theme better..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

